Skip to main content

New Horizons Scholarship

New Horizons Online Scholarship Application

Eastern Kentucky University recognizes the importance education plays in helping minority students achieve their dreams for a bright future.  The New Horizons Minority Scholarship provides financial assistance to first time freshmen applicants based on an overall evaluation of a student’s leadership and involvement in school/community programs and academic performance. Incoming freshman students must have a high school grade point average of 2.75 or higher and an ACT composite score of 20 or better (or SAT equivalent) to be considered.  Students must also have completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and have submitted a Dr. Rodney Gross Scholars' online application.  Applicants should highlight their leadership and extracurricular school and community involvement on the Rodney Gross application. Students who meet the above criteria will automatically be considered for a New Horizons Minority Scholarship award. 

Award amounts range up to full in-state tuition. The number of scholarships is limited based upon available funding. Awards will be automatically renewable for up to 8 consecutive academic semesters provided the student maintains a 2.5 cumulative grade point average, remains enrolled full-time, participates in the Rodney Gross Scholars Program, and completes the FAFSA by Nov 1 each year. 

In order to apply, please complete the Dr. Rodney Gross Diversity Scholarship ApplicationPlease note on the application if you are the first in your family to attend college (this not a disqualifying factor).  In the online application, please list all school/community involvement and leadership positions.

Priority deadline: January 1st 

Official deadline: March 1st

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Scholarships recipients will be selected and notified via email by the University Scholarship Committee.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/